Today is National Caviar Day.

Caviar is processed, non fertilized and salted sturgeon eggs called roe and is considered a delicacy due to it’s high cost. Less expensive caviar is usually imitations using salmon, trout and other fish eggs.
It comes mainly from Russia and Iran where the wild sturgeons swim the Caspian Sea and can be eaten as a garnish or spread.

Here are the 4 types of “true” caviar in order of most to least expensive.

Beluga : pea sized pale, silver gray eggs.
Sterlet : small golden eggs.
Oestra : medium sized gray to brown eggs.
Sebruga : small grey eggs.

Share this with your friends:Share on Facebook
Tweet about this on Twitter
Pin on Pinterest
Email this to someone

Speak Your Mind